Library Coffee Shop in Full Swing!

SDC12605Ah! How sweet coffee tastes! Lovelier than a thousand kisses, sweeter far than muscatel wine! -“Coffee Cantata”, J.S. Bach

The coffee shop appears to be a big hit with students, faculty, staff, and ME! I love Jazzman’s Cafe & Bakery, the new coffee shop in the Houston Cole Library. Karen, the lady in charge of setting up shop in the morning and my new favorite friend when I’m ready for my coffee, told me that business was really starting to take off.SDC12608

As I came in to work this morning, I thought I would stop and get a cup of coffee real quick, but there was a huge line of students. Later, I came down and got my usual (I already have a usual); a supreme-sized hazelnut coffee. It smells and tastes great. I have tried their blueberry and mocha cappuccino muffins which were to die for.  Today, I might try one of their sandwiches or salads for lunch.SDC12592

It’s great to see students discussing their classwork  or working on their laptops over cups of coffee and hot chocolate.  Since the coffee shop and bakery are in the lobby, the first thing our patrons now encounter is a pleasant, inviting smell. Who doesn’t like the smell of coffee and pastries?  Personally, I think coffee and research belong together.SDC12603SDC12609SDC12594SDC12599

6 thoughts on “Library Coffee Shop in Full Swing!

  1. I totally believe coffee and research go together! And I really believe in coffee as a social and cultural centerpiece. It encourages people to slow down and actually think about things or have a conversation. And smells so good. That hazelnut coffee sounds amazing!

  2. Lauri,
    Love your blog! I also LOVE coffee! Just wish the library were closer to my office! But I enjoy it every time I get across campus! I think it’s a great addition to our campus!

    BTW, I have the book about JSU about which you wrote. It’s a wonderful history; very interesting!

    Nina

  3. Thanks Nina and Nancy! Hope your semester is off to a great start. Nina, I would like to say I wrote a book about JSU, but that was someone else. Will be posting new children’s books soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

